The Books of Summer

Summer officially began June 5th at 1:00. This is the first summer in three years that I have not been going to school myself. Last summer I was in the process of working on my alternative certification to be able to teach in a public school. The two previous years I was working on my Masters in Art Education. I am challenging myself to complete a handmade book every week of summer. I’ve spent too much time looking at ideas for books on Pinterest, and looking at books and videos about how to make books. It was time to start making something so here goes!

Book 1: This Twig Spine Pamphlet Stitch book was presented at the June meeting of the Houston Book Arts Guild. Missy Bosch led the group in the assembly process. A multitude of possibilities were offered for making this book. I chose to have a small flap on the cover with a small brad for a fastener.

HBAG June

JHBAG June2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

